The UnSelfish Gene

Heard Richard Dawkins on this morning’s Radio 4 The Life Scientific – http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/b01mc11f

I mentioned his book The Selfish Gene on my website  and I have to admit that I’ve not read the book although it is in miscellaneous luggage somewhere.   I was given the book by my aunt nearly 20 years ago, who like many others was receptive to evidence of man’s selfish and accumulative nature (mirror image requirements).   At that particular time Religion and Spirituality occupied the same dimension in my mind:  shared the same POD, as it were….. so I think there may have been a bit of point-scoring going on (my aunt was a fervent Atheist, Agnostic and Humanist).   

Now, however, I am quite clear in my mind that Religions* have over the centuries stolen from Spirituality in order to purvey themselves to listeners and viewers as truthful and full of integrity.  If Spirituality has any bedfellow, then it would – naturally – be Science, Quantum Physics and Nature.

Perhaps on some level I thought mere ownership of the book provided a source of osmosis over the years.  I doubt it though. 

More likely, the title alone auto-suggested to my subconscious mind the content of the book.  Always one to find the speediest route home, I thought I would read the book once I had more time: a time when I was so affluent due to my intuitive knowledge that I wouldn’t have to work.   Well, things never turn out quite the way you plan, do they?

Then I heard this morning in the above program that the book The Selfish Gene actually proves the opposite – that man has an altruistic nature.

So I apologise, Mr Dawkins for judging a book by its title.

Maybe I should at the very least have read a summary of  Mr Dawkins’ book.   http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Selfish_Gene

*Mainly the Christian-Islamic religions – two ‘opposing’ faiths – to achieve a central aim:  more Thesis + Antithesis = Synthesis.  That would be SPIRALS to man on street.

About Hiplane-3rd Eye Symbolism

Intuitive Consultant on Health and Subtle Intelligence - the language that your spiritual Metaphysical Twin* uses to speak to you. Secondly, Symbolism is the language used by the Elite to run the World. Thus if you know the format, you will know everything about yourself and the Global future: the road chosen by The Elite to take humanity down. All in Plain Sight - provided that you understand the language of Spirit: Symbolism, Synchronicity and Subtle Intelligence. This is what enlightenment is all about. *Unconscious minds
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

